Institutes Associated

Hawksworth Vidyapith, Tholassery
Hawksworth Vidyapith, Tholassery

Hawksworth Vidyapith, Tholassery

Hawksworth Junior school was established on the Tholassery hills, the cradle of modern education in Thiruvalla and nearby places in 1987 sponsored by CSI St. Thomas church. The school was founded in memory of Rev. John Hawksworth, one of the pioneer CMS missionaries who served the Thiruvalla region in mid 19th century. During his tenure in Thiruvalla, he built a bungalow where Hawksworth Junior school was started with 31 kids in KG. In 1993 the school reached the level of Std IV and at this time a children’s park was constructed. In 1995 the school was renamed Hawksworth Vidyapith and it was decided to upgrade the school to the secondary level. The school also owned a van for the transportation of the children. In 1996, the vicar of CSI St Thomas church and the committee members took steps to strengthen and renovate the Hawksworth Bungalow and the necessary maintenance work was done. Also, a new van was bought to facilitate transportation. In 2001 the school obtained N.O.C. from Kerala Govt. and temporary affiliation to the Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations, New Delhi. The ground floor was completed, and the principal’s office and High school classes were shifted to the new building in 2004. In 2004 and the school got permanent affiliation. Thus from humble beginnings, the school has become a prominent educational centre in Thiruvalla.

Designation : Bursar

Hawksworth Vidyapith Tholassery, Thiruvalla, 689101

Website :

Pastorates Associated

- Tholassery

CSI St. Thomas Church, Tholassery

  • Year of the Formation : 1849
  • Name of the Founder : Rev. John Hawksworth
  • Year of Pastorate Formation : 1849
  • Total Members of the Congregation : 1600
  • Total Families in the Congregation : 450
  • Total Land : 24 Acres
  • Name of the Bishop from the Congregation: Rt. Rev. Thomas Samuel
  • Name of the Presbyters from the Congregation: Late Rev. M. P. Mathen, Late Rev. A. O. Mathai, Late Rev. T. J. Andrews, Late Rev. W. Mathew, Late Rev. Thomas Cherian, Rev. P. C. Mathew, Rev. Joseph Mathew, Late Rev. Eapen John, Late Rev. P. C. Thomas, Late Rev. George Sathyanathan, Rev. T. O. Oommen, and Rev. Abraham. G. Sathyanathan.
  • Name of the Catechists/Church Workers & Sisters from the Congregation: M/S, M. J. Cherian, M. C. Cherian, M. C. Kurien, M. C. Mathai, M. C. chacko, T. O. Oommen, T. O. Chandy, T. O. Varghese, T. O. Thomas Thottathil, T. K. Varghese Thottathil, Kurien. T. Kurien Thottathil, N. E. Varkey Thottathil, M. E. Ninan, M. E. Mathai, P. S. Samuel, K. V. Varghese, K. V. Joseph, V. Varkey, Sister Thankamma Sathyanadhan, and Sister Santhamma Joseph.
Designation : Vicar

CSI St. Thomas Church, Tholassery, Thiruvalla - 689 101.

Location : click here

Website :

Rev. Alex P. Oommen

Rev. Alex P. Oommen

CSI St. Thomas Church, Tholassery, Thiruvalla - 689 101 Mob: 9495606615 Email:[email protected]